News Categories

Doctor Who & Sherlock Triumph at 2014 NTAs

Doctor Who had a great night at this year’s National Television Awards. The show won both of the categories it was nominated for.

Matt Smith was honoured first by picking up Best Drama Performance. He fought off Miranda Hart (Call The Midwife), Martin Clunes (Doc Martin) and Maggie Smith (Downton Abbey).

Smith was unable to attend the event in person, but Steven Moffat and Jenna Coleman accepted the award on his behalf:

Smith later recorded a special video acceptance:

Doctor Who also won Best Drama, fighting off competition from Broadchurch, Downton Abbey and Call The Midwife.

Benedict Cumberbatch took the award for Best TV Detective as Sherlock (who else?!) He beat David Tennant (Broadchurch), Olivia Colman (Broadchurch), Idris Elba (Luther) and Suranne Jones (Scott & Bailey).

Congrats to all the winners!

Step back in time...


Please be civil and keep article comments relevant and on topic. Flag and report any offensive/trolling behavior, or contact us with details.
Please do not post SPOILERS including anything from leaked episodes! Your account could be banned. For complete details on our comment policy please read.