Series 10: Classic Writer Returns With “The Eaters of Light”


The latest Doctor Who Magazine (#506) confirms that Classic series writer Rona Munro is returning to pen a Series 10 story.

Munro, who previously wrote the 1989 Seventh Doctor adventure Survival, is back for Episode 9 of the 2017 run. The current title for which is “The Eaters of Light“.

The guest cast includes Rebecca Benson, Daniel Kerr, Juwon Adedokun, Brian Vernel, Ben Hunter, Aaron Phagura, Sam Adewunmi and Billy Matthews.

Also revealed is the writer of Episode 5: Jamie Mathieson (Mummy on the Orient Express, Flatline and The Girl Who Died).

Mathieson says his newest episode is “Very, very scary. Like, seriously so. ‘Let’s go behind the sofa and just stay there until it’s over’ scary. It’s got more shocks and tense scenes than anything I’ve ever written. It’s also a taut thrill ride, a gag test, a pitch black satire and, for the first time I’m writing for Bill and Nardole!”

The guest cast includes Kieran Bew, Justin Salinger, Peter Caulfield, Mimi Ndiweni and Karen Brayben.

Episodes 5 and 9 are filming as part of Block 4 now.