Skip to content

601. The Impossible Astronaut / 602. Day of the Moon


  • Broadcast: 23 / 30 April 2011
  • Viewers: 8.86m / 7.30m
  • Availability: Series 6: Part 1


Four envelopes, numbered 2, 3 and 4, each containing a date, time and map reference, unsigned, but TARDIS blue. Who sent them? And who received the missing number one? This strange summons reunites the Doctor, Amy, Rory and River Song in the middle of the Utah desert and unveils a terrible secret the Doctor’s friends must never reveal to him.

Placing his life entirely in their hands, the Doctor agrees to search for the recipient of the fourth envelope – just who is Canton Everett Delaware the Third? And what is the relevance of their only other clue: ‘Space 1969’? Their quest lands them – quite literally – in the Oval Office, where they are enlisted by President Nixon himself to assist enigmatic former-FBI agent Canton, in saving a terrified little girl from a mysterious spaceman.

The Doctor is locked in the perfect prison. Amy, Rory and River Song are being hunted down across America by the FBI. With the help of new friend and FBI-insider, Canton Everett Delaware the Third, our heroes are reunited to share their discoveries, if not their memories. For the world is occupied by an alien force who control humanity through post-hypnotic suggestion and no one can be trusted. Aided by President Nixon and Neil Armstrong’s foot, the Doctor must mount a revolution to drive out the enemy and rescue the missing little girl. No-one knows why they took her. Or why they have kidnapped Amy Pond…


Written by Steven Moffat
Directed by Toby Haynes

The Doctor – Matt Smith
Amy Pond – Karen Gillan
Rory Williams – Arthur Darvill
River Song – Alex Kingston
Canton Delaware – Mark Sheppard
Old Canton Delaware – William Morgan Sheppard
President Richard Nixon – Stuart Milligan
Carl – Chuk Iwuji
Phil – Mark Griffin
The Silent – Marnix Van Den Broeke
Little girl – Sydney Wade
Joy – Nancy Baldwin
Captain Simmons – Adam Napier
Matilda – Henrietta Clemett
Charles – Paul Critoph
Prison guard – Kieran O’Connor
Busboy – Emilio Aquino
Dr Renfrew – Kerry Shale
Gardner – Glenn Wrage
Dr Shepherd – Peter Banks
Tramp – Ricky Fearon
Eyepatch lady – Frances Barber
Grant – Jeff Mash
Sergeant – Tommy Campbell

Image Gallery