First 50th Anniversary Book by Eoin Colfer

Share on Facebook3Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+30Share on Tumblr0Pin on Pinterest5Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Eoin-Colfer-book-a-big-hand-for-the-doctorIn honour of Doctor Who’s 50th anniversary year, Eoin Colfer, author of the ‘Artemis Fowl’ series, has penned a short story featuring the First Doctor, William Hartnell.

The book entitled ‘A Big Hand For The Doctor‘ is the first in a series of eleven ebook short stories each based on one of the Eleven Doctors. They’ll all be priced at £1.99 and released on the 23rd of each month starting in January 2013.

Story details:

London, 1900. The First Doctor is missing both his hand and his granddaughter, Susan. Faced with the search for Susan, a strange beam of soporific light, and a host of marauding Soul Pirates intent on harvesting human limbs, the Doctor is promised a dangerous journey into a land he may never forget…

Each story is written by a different author, bringing together some of the big names in children’s fiction. These authors will each bring their own interpretation and reimagining of their chosen Doctor to create a unique Doctor Who adventure in their own inimitable style.

A promotional video featuring the author will be released on the 11th of each month on the BBC Worldwide Doctor Who YouTube channel.

A paperback anthology of all eleven stories, the Doctor Who Anniversary Anthology will be released on 23rd November 2013 priced at £7.99.

The release calendar:

  • January – First Doctor, William Hartnell (1963-1966)
  • February – Second Doctor, Patrick Troughton (1966-1969)
  • March – Third Doctor, Jon Pertwee (1970-1974)
  • April – Fourth Doctor, Tom Baker (1974-1981)
  • May – Fifth Doctor, Peter Davison (1981-1984)
  • June – Sixth Doctor, Colin Baker (1984-1986)
  • July – Seventh Doctor, Sylvester McCoy (1987-1996)
  • August – Eighth Doctor, Paul McGann (1996)
  • September – Ninth Doctor, Christopher Eccleston (2005)
  • October – Tenth Doctor, David Tennant (2005-2010)
  • November – Eleventh Doctor, Matt Smith (2010-present)

Other books this year:

  • Doctor Who: Puffin Eshorts (January – November, £1.99)
  • Doctor Who: Anniversary Sticker Book (4th April, £7.99, Paperback, 9781405909150)
  • Doctor Who: Where’s the Doctor? (4th April, £5.99, Paperback Reissue, 9781405909044)
  • Doctor Who: Official Annual 2014 (1st August, £7.99, Hardback, 9781405911795)
  • Doctor Who: Lost in Space (5th September, £8.99, Hardback, 9781405911801)
  • Doctor Who: The Essential Guide to Fifty Years of Doctor Who (October, Hardback, £12.99)
  • Doctor Who: Anniversary Anthology (November, Paperback, £7.99)