Doctor Who Faces Sherlock in 2013 NTAs

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Tumblr0Pin on Pinterest17Share on Reddit0Email this to someone


The finalised shortlist nominees for the 2013 National Television Awards have been announced.

Doctor Who is, once again, up for Best Drama. The show faces stiff competition from Merlin, Downton Abbey (last year’s winner) and, probably toughest of all, Sherlock.

Matt Smith is up for Best Male Drama Performance, while Karen Gillan is nominated for Best Female Drama Performance.

The Doctor Who nominated categories in full:

Best Drama

  • Doctor Who
  • Sherlock
  • Downton Abbey
  • Merlin

Best Drama Performance Male

  • Matt Smith (Doctor Who)
  • Colin Morgan (Merlin)
  • Daniel Mays (Mrs Biggs)
  • Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock)

Best Drama Performance Female

  • Karen Gillan (Doctor Who)
  • Sheridan Smith (Mrs Biggs)
  • Miranda Hart (Call The Midwife)
  • Suranne Jones (Scott & Bailey)

You can vote for this year’s nominees online here.

Voting closes at midday on 23rd January 2013. All new votes will be added to those already submitted in the first round of voting and the results announced live on ITV1 from 7.30pm, 23rd January 2013.