News Categories

Doctor Who battles Merlin

The final shortlist nominees for the 2012 National Television Awards have been announced.

Doctor Who is, once again, up for Best Drama. The show faces competition from Merlin, Downton Abbey and last year’s winner, Waterloo Road, which notoriously put an end to Doctor Who’s winning streak in the category.

Matt Smith and John Barrowman are up for Best Male Drama Performance, while Karen Gillan and Eve Myles are nominated for Best Female Drama Performance.

The Doctor Who nominated categories in full:

Best Drama

  • Doctor Who
  • Downton Abbey
  • Merlin
  • Waterloo Road

Best Male Drama Performance

  • Matt Smith (Doctor Who)
  • John Barrowman (Torchwood: Miracle Day)
  • Martin Clunes (Doc Martin)
  • David Threlfall (Shameless)

Best Female Drama Performance

  • Karen Gillan (Doctor Who)
  • Eve Myles (Torchwood: Miracle Day)
  • Jaye Jacobs (Waterloo Road)
  • Suranne Jones (Scott & Bailey)

You can vote for this year’s nominees online here. You know what to do.

Voting closes midday Wednesday 25th January. The awards ceremony will be broadcast the same day live on ITV1 beginning 7.30pm.

Step back in time...


Please be civil and keep article comments relevant and on topic. Flag and report any offensive/trolling behavior, or contact us with details.
Please do not post SPOILERS including anything from leaked episodes! Your account could be banned. For complete details on our comment policy please read.